1) In person - it takes about 5 minutes and the cost is $10.00 per copy
2) By mail - a written request is required with full name(s) and date of event, a check for $10.00 payable to Brattleboro Town Clerk, and a self-addressed stamped envelope to return the copy in. We try to send the copy back out the same day we receive the request.
3) It is also possible to pay online with a credit card. Under How may I help you from the left sidebar choose Birth, Death or Marriage copies and follow the instructions
- What do I need to get a marriage license?
If you are over 18, and any previous marriage was legally terminated over one year ago there is no documentation required. Vermont does not require witnesses, a waiting period, or a blood test. We prefer that both parties are present to issue the license, but state law requires only one. Issuing the license, which must be done prior to the marriage ceremony, takes 15 to 20 minutes and costs $45.00 for the license itself and $10.00 if you want a certified copy after the service. Once the license is issued it is valid for 60 days so an officiant will need to perform the service in that time. A list of local Justices is available on the Town Clerk's page of this site, or at the clerk's office.
- Do you issue hunting and fishing licenses?
No, in Brattleboro hunting and fishing licenses are available at Sam's Department Store on Main Street (254-2933) or online through the Vermont Department of Fish and Wildlife
- How do I get a business license?