Brattleboro, Vermont


Development Review Board

The Board reviews site plans, conditional uses, planned developments, subdivision applications and other aspects of land development as set forth in the town zoning and subdivision ordinances. It also considers appeals of decisions of the zoning administrator. The board is empowered to grant variances from zoning and subdivision requirements in certain circumstances. 

The Board is composed of seven members appointed by the Selectboard to three-year terms, and up to three alternate members appointed by the Selectboard to one-year terms. Alternatives can be appointed to hear an application if other Board members are absent or have a conflict of interest. Meetings are held on the third Monday of the month at 7:00 PM in the Selectboard Meeting Room. 

Currently serving:
James Valente, Chair (term expires 6/30/20)
Eric Annis, Vice Chair (term expires 6/30/18)
Kathryn Turnas II (term expires 6/30/20)
Michael Gouin (term expires 6/30/19)
Maya Hasegawa (term expires 6/30/18)
Todd Murchison (term expires 6/30/2020
David Whittle, Alternate (term expires 6/30/18)
vacancy (term expires 6/30/2017)
Brian Bannon, Clerk, Zoning Administrator (Contact 802-251-8111 or